I am going to start this blog off with the story of my past.

I was born in Chicago, IL in 2001. A not so nice family took me in, and I spent my time as a kitten with them. They were extremely abusive to me, and I still have the scars to show for it. They ended up leaving their apartment, and they left me there to die. Someone heard me meowing and called animal control, and the nice animal control people came to rescue me and took me to a shelter. Since I am a black cat, they didn’t think that I would last long in the shelter.

The people from Petables, which is located in a Chicago suburb, came to the shelter to find some cats to rescue. They took one look at me and decided that I needed to be saved. I was placed in a foster home with lots of other cats. The other cats picked on me, and I didn’t trust them at all. I was extremely nervous, and though no one knew it, I was also suffering from an Upper Respiratory infection.

The people at Petables began taking me to adoption fairs, but I never did well. The new people scared me, and I just wanted to hide in the back of my cage and be left alone. I had a funny meow and a funny purr, because my Upper Respiratory had been left untreated for so long. I developed a case of asthma, and blisters had grown in my throat. I remained in the rescue for three years.

This is Mom

One day, while Mom was working at an animal hospital, she was talking to one of the ladies from Petables. Mom didn’t really want a cat, but when the lady told her about me, she became interested.

“I’ve always wanted a black cat,” Mom said.

“You can try him out free of charge. If he doesn’t work out, then you can return him to us. But he has been in the rescue for three years, and I’m afraid he will never find his forever home. He doesn’t do well at adoption fairs.” The lady told her.

“Okay, I will give him a try. I just hope he doesn’t hurt Buttercup, my guinea pig,” Mom replied.

This is me with Buttercup This is me with Buttercup. We got along fine. I loved my sister. She’s now OTRB.

The next day, the lady brought me into the animal hospital. I was so frightened! The lady took me out of the cage and handed me to Mom. I was shy and I tried to hide my face from her. She held onto me, though, and declared me to be the sweetest cat ever. She took me home that day after work.

Grandma was in town visiting Mom, and she picked up a litter box and some food from the store on her way to Mom’s house. I had a potty and food and water when I got to Mom’s. After I was settled in a bit (hiding under the bed, I’m embarrassed to say), Mom went to a pet store and got me some more stuff. She got me lots of toys and a lovely red leather spiked collar. She said it made me hardcore. I had never had so much stuff in my life!

The next few days, I thought everything was a dream. I just knew I’d wake up any minute and be back in the rescue house with ten other cats. I hid from Mom a lot, but she was very patient and kept telling me what a good boy I was. Slowly, but surely, I started to believe her. I also warmed up to Grandma while she was in town. Eventually, I came around.

A week or so after Mom had gotten me, she noticed I was coughing. She finally took me to the vet and was told that I have Upper Respiratory and asthma. The doctor told her that I had been infected for three years, and because of that, I now have chronic asthma. I have to get steroid shots every few months so the blisters don’t swell.

Now I am the friendliest cat in the world! Of course you have to be friendly when you’re the king! Subjects don’t like a stuck up king. Now I introduce myself to Mom’s friends when they come over, I go visit Grandma down in Tennessee and stay at her house when Mom travels, and I also spend as much time as I can with Mom. I am the happiest cat around, too! I always purr, sometimes even in my sleep! Now you know the journey that I took from alley cat to king of the world!

Sitting on my throne, keeping watch over the world.

9 Responses to “I am going to start this blog off with the story of my past.”

  1. Wow, that really is an inspirational story!

  2. What a courageous cat you are, and to turn into a King! Who knew?

    I am purry happy for you to find such a caring mom.
    Good job mom!

    Purrrrrrrrs to you both.

  3. Hubo the cat Says:

    Joey,
    You are an true King and your life’s story is very touching. It also shows: never give up hope! May this be an inspiration to anipals and their human friends.

  4. Jenny Rose Says:

    Hiya Joey! I likes yer bloggy so far. I didn’t know yer story. I’s so glad yew met yer pawsum Mom an haf such a wunerful life now.

  5. purrxlots Says:

    Thank you for sharing your story with us. You are such a pretty kitty.
    We are so glad that you and your Mom found each other. It is so nice
    to have a furry family to love and be loved by. We have 5 black furry family members at our house and we love them all.
    Will be looking forward to your next post.

  6. What a wonderful story, Joey! My kitty Topaz (who’s also a black cat) was left behind by her owners when they moved, too. Funnily enough, she also had an upper respiratory infection when I adopted her, but the peeps at the Animal Rescue League caught it early and gave me meds to treat it. Your mom is a wonderful lady :-).

  7. cheshirek Says:

    I”m so glad you found such a nice forever home, Joey!

  8. Thank you for sharing this wonderful story, Joey ❤

  9. Oh Joey – you poor kitty. You really did have a tough beginning. I has a broken meower too. M thinks it’s because I had an infected mouth for so very long too. It’s funny cuz we has similar problems. I’m so happy you have found a good home now.

Leave a Reply

